Forgotten and Decaying

 

I am always on the lookout for barns. I love them because they remind me of my farming roots. The best ones have character. This barn is a forgotten relic just off of Missouri Highway 82 in St. Clair County, Missouri in Tiffin. The weathervane caught my eye as I made my way to the Schell-Osage Conservation Area early Saturday morning. 

Throughout the rest of the day, I kept thinking back to that barn. The Bible instructs us to carefully choose what we value.

“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys, and where thieves do not break in or steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” Matthew 6:6 19-21 ESV

Am I placing my value in earthly things that are soon forgotten and fall into decay, or am I placing my value on heavenly things? Like this old barn, the things of earth will grow old. When they are no longer needed, they will be forgotten.  Matthew 6 ends with these verses:

But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble. Matthew 6:33-34 ESVThe Bible tells me that I can count on God to fulfill his promises. Wouldn’t it be better to trust in the one who has no beginning or end than in the things we have created for ourselves?


Leave a Reply

